Friday, June 7, 2013

PDC Announcement regarding Sydney Darts Masters

THE PDC are delighted to announce that the Sydney Darts Masters, the second event in the World Series of Darts, will be held at Luna Park in Sydney from August 29-31 and broadcast live on Fox Sports.

Following the success of the recent Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters, which was won by Michael van Gerwen, the second event in the PDC’s new World Series of Darts has been confirmed.

The 16-player event will see the PDC’s top eight stars joined by the top three players from the DPA rankings, a trio of home qualifiers from a three-day qualifying event, Australian World Cup ace Paul Nicholson and a New Zealand qualifier.

The PDC’s top eight Order of Merit ranked players will include Ladbrokes World Darts Champion Phil Taylor, Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters and McCoy’s Premier League Darts champion Michael van Gerwen and Australian superstar Simon Whitlock as well as five and two-time World Champions Raymond van Barneveld and Adrian Lewis, seven-time major event winner James Wade, World Championship finalist Andy Hamilton and European Championship finalist Wes Newton.

“Professional darts in Australia has taken huge strides in recent years, and I’m thrilled that the second event in our World Series of Darts will be held in Sydney this August,” said PDC Chairman Barry Hearn.

“Australian darts fans now see all major PDC events live on Fox Sports, but the Sydney Darts Masters will give them the chance to see the biggest stars in the game in the flesh at Luna Park.

“The recent Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters was hugely popular and I’m sure that the Sydney Darts Masters, spearheaded by the appearance of Aussie standard-bearers Simon Whitlock and Paul Nicholson, will be equally successful.

“The DPA have done a great job in developing professional darts in Australia in recent years, and the ambitious players Down Under now want to emulate Simon and Paul to play on the big stage, so this is a huge opportunity for them.”

The event will be preceded from August 26-28 by a three-day qualifying series, from which three players will win through to play in the main Sydney Darts Masters tournament.

The eight First Round games will be played at Sydney’s iconic Luna Park on Thursday August 29, with the Quarter-Finals on Friday August 30 and the Semi-Finals and Final being held on Saturday August 31.

The whole of the Sydney Darts Masters will be screened live on Fox Sports in Australia, following the huge success of PDC tournaments being broadcast by the channel in recent years.


Tickets will be priced as follows:

Thursday August 29

8x First Round Games

Floor Seating $60

Tiered Seating $40

Friday August 30

4x Quarter-Finals

Floor Seating $65

Tiered Seating $45

Saturday August 31

Semi-Finals & Final

Floor Seating $70

Tiered Seating $50

Season Tickets

Floor Seating $165

Tiered Seating $120

Entrants to the qualifiers can buy a Floor Season Ticket for $150

Booking fees are $5 for GST regular mail or e-ticket costs. Additional is a $3.95 transaction fee per booking, plus 2% credit charge.

Tickets will go on sale on Friday June 14 at 9am (Australian time) or by Telephone on 1300 BIG TOP.


The three Qualifiers will be held on Sunday August 25, Monday August 26 and Tuesday August 27.

Entry to the Qualifiers costs $35 per event will be available through the DPA via


Post a Comment