Sunday, August 16, 2009

Counties Retain North Island Shield

Counties Manukau Darts Association defeated West City Darts Association on Sunday 16th August 2009 at the Bellbird Arms in Manurewa in the North Island Shield Challenge 27 - 17. The format was 16 players per side with the side that first accrued 25 wins from the 48 matches being the winner. There was a round robin of four pairs for each of the eight pairs and each of the 16 players had one game of singles.

After the pairs the score was 20 to 12 with Counties only needing 5 of the 16 singles to gain a victory. West City matched Counties win for win in the singles but were too far behind Counties to catch up and pass them. Many of the games were very close with just Counties ability to hit the doubles the difference.

Player of the day for Counties was Sammy Bryant and player of the day for West City was Dave Owen. 180's were scored by Sam Bryant, Graham McIlroy, John Sinclair, Sonny Matekurae who got two, Wilson Henry, Mike Day who got two and Ken Moir who got two and Mony Tuhua. The highest finish was Toko Hazel with 154.

This is the only challenge Counties have had this year for the shield and will not face another for 12 months. They presently hold the Ben Hill trophy for supremacy of teams of eight men In the North Island and the Renee Stacey shield for supremacy in the Auckland area. West City are to have challenges for both these trophies later in the year so still have a chance to redeem themselves.

The West City team was Monty Tuhua, Ken Moir, Ron Glavish, Paul Earl, Brevis Herbert, Stephen Holt, Mike Day, Paul Williams, Lawrie Maber, Dean Webster, Dave Owen, Dean Woodward, Casey Mathews, Mark Padley, Moe Charlie and Jim Hennah.

The Counties Manukau team was Graham McIlroy, Sonny Matekurae, John Sinclair, Toko Hazel, Wilson Henry, Sam Bryant, Tere Tou, Hordie McKinnon, Rod Penny, Brett Bibby, James Crane, Phil Cave, Neil Vessels, Tom Williams, Haunui Hira and Dean Cameron.